Macclesfield Quiz League
Sponsored by AstraZeneca

You are here:

News & Views
2016–17 Season
Cup Final and Presentations Night

On this page:

Cup Final
A League
B League
C League

Printable Version

To open a PDF version of this page, please click here.

News and Views: 2016–17 Season - Cup Final and Presentations - 4 April 2017

Many thanks as always to all who attended the Finals Night. There was an excellent turn-out and I hope all concerned enjoyed themselves.

Cup Final

Ox–fford 'C' 103 95 Royal Oak

The Cup Final was a very closely fought and entertaining contest with the Ox–fford 'C managing to just pull clear in the last two rounds.

Many thanks also to our QM and scorer for the night, Alan Hodgson and Derek Owen respectively, both from the Dolphin, of course.

A League

The Ox–fford 'C' win the title for the fifth time since their first ever win in 2009/10 and they have been almost untouchable this year, a fantastic effort. Take a bow the Dolphin Dragons, the only team to beat them this season!

Alice Walker wins the A League Individual title for the first time and becomes the first woman to do so. The A League Individual title has only ever been won by 6 people in total in over 30 years, with Alan Hodgson being far and away the record holder as a 12 time winner, so well done indeed to Alice.

Just to underline her achievement, Alice also set a record score this year for a best ever 12 game total, so definitely a win in some style!

B League

The British Flag win the B League title for the fifth time in total and celebrate their first win since 2011/12. The Waters Green Rams finished runners–up and both teams return to the A League next season.

Matt Rogers – B League Individual Champion

In normal circumstances, Dave Partington from the Harrington Academicals would have won the B League Individual title this year on a purely arithmetical basis, but for the second year in succession, the League has sadly had to come to terms with the loss of a good friend and colleague.

Matt Rogers of the Waters Green Lemmings was top of the B League Individual table at his untimely death in February and following conversations with the rest of the Committee – and especially with the magnanimous Dave Partington and everyone else at the top of the table – we decided to give the title and shield this year to Matt, who we all agreed on the night fully deserved it.

The B League Individual Trophy and silver salver were collected by Sunil Peck and he and Nick will ensure that Matt's family receive them in this one–off set of circumstances.

We all wish Matt's wife Laura and their two boys nothing but good fortune from now on and hopefully they will find at least a little comfort in time to come from this small gesture on our part.

C League

The Plough Horntails win their first ever C League title – at least in their present form. They could have won something as the George & Dragon back in the day, but my memory is not what it was!

The Harrington 'B' are runners–up and promoted for the first ever time in their history! Well done indeed to all concerned and the B League will see a Harrington Derby next season!

Malcolm Asquith won the C League Individual title, his first since he won the B League equivalent in 2007/08. It bodes well for next year!

© Macclesfield Quiz League 2017