AstraZeneca logo

Macclesfield Quiz League
Sponsored by AstraZeneca

You are here:


Changes for the 2017-18 Season

The below should answer most questions you may have concerning the new season.

We finished last season with 26 teams, having played last season with two Leagues of 9 teams and one League of 8 teams. The C League "carried the vacancy" and played with 8 teams last year, as it has done for the previous two years in fact.

For this season we have lost a further two teams, namely the Plough Taverners and the Cock-A-2, both of whom would have been in the B League this year if they had stayed.

Both of those teams have played in some form or another for longer than I can remember and hopefully we will still see some of their personnel involved in some way this year. Of course both teams would be very welcome to return at any point should they choose to do so in the future as well.

Once all promotions and relegations from last season were enacted, this left us with 9 teams in the A League, 7 teams in the B League and 8 teams in the C League, which did not seem the best way to leave it!

After some discussion at the AGM, there was unanimous support for my proposal that as we have 24 teams in total now, we should play with 3 Leagues of 8 teams each this year.

The team that misses out in this instance is the Waters Green Rams, who would normally have been promoted to the A League by way of finishing second to the British Flag in the B League last year. In this case, the Rams will go back into the B League for the coming season to give us 8 teams in each League.

Many thanks to all in the Waters Green Rams team for their understanding and cooperation in this matter.

The only other change is in the C League, where we just have the one change of venue:

Last Season This Season
Brewers Arms Prince of Wales (returning to their previous home in the Porters Ale House / Prince of Wales on Roe Street)

All teams apart from the Waters Green Rams are thus promoted / relegated as per last season's finishing positions and the full list of teams playing this year, plus the leagues they are in, is:

A League B League C League
Ox–fford 'C' Waters Green Rams Park Taverners
Dolphin Royal Oak Pack Horse Bowling Club
Ox–fford Robin Hood Park Timers
Dolphin Dragons Harrington Academicals Sutton Club
Weaver Nags Head Cock Inn
Church House Bollington Waters Green Lemmings Prince of Wales
Wharfies Plough Horntails Sutton Mutton
British Flag Harrington 'B' Chester Road Tavern

© Macclesfield Quiz League 2017